Getting University of Alaska Television

There are a number of ways you can receive UATV. One way is to check with your local cable station to see if they carry the channel in their lineup. If your cable company does not carry UATV, write or call them to request that they carry it. Many cable companies don't carry UATV simply because they have not had any requests to do so. We try to keep track of communities which currently receive UATV on local cable. If you are currently receiving UATV, please let us know so we can keep our list updated!

UATV Cable TV Channels in Alaskan Communities

Barrow 67 Juneau 11 Petersburg 22
Bethel 12 Kachemak 3 or 6 Ridgeway 12
College 6 Kenai 12 Seward 16
Cordova 12 Ketchikan 14 Sitka ---
Craig 95 King Salmon 17 Skagway 14
Dillingham 11 Kodiak 12 Soldotna 12
Dutch Harbor 12 Kotzebue 98 Tanana 33
Eielson AFB 6 McGrath 35 Unalaska 12
Fairbanks 6 Metlakatla 40 Valdez 98
Ft. Wainwright 6 Naknek 17 Whittier 33
Haines 14 Nome 12 Wrangell 9
Homer 8 North Pole 6
Hoonah 24 Nushagak 11
Hydaburg 95 This list is based on information reported by UATV viewers around the state.

UATV Satellite Information 

UATV is an MPEG2DVB digitally encoded Free To Air signal located on the AMC-8 satellite at 139 degrees west. To receive our satellite signal, you must have an MPEG2DVB capable receiver, with the appropriate frequencies entered, connected to a C-Band satellite dish pointed at AMC-8. If you can already see ARCS or Gavel to Gavel or the PBS super station, you can receive UATV.

The correct information to input into your receiver is:

Frequency 1090.00 (your input may be 01090)
Symbol Rate 8.1000 (your input may be 8100)
Polarity Horizontal
FEC Rate 3/4 (may not appear on your receiver)

Please direct questions to University of Alaska Southeast Media Services, (907) 796-6374